Story: My dream knight

The clock shows it’s 6 PM. Another exhausted day came to an end. I just walked out of brown color building after finishing my work.

The sky looked like a gradient of Coral pink and Azure blue. Suddenly it started thundering and it’s getting darker. I thought it would rain, and I forgot to carry an umbrella as always.

Before I tried to find a shed to protect from rain, I saw a familiar silhouette, a man in his late twenties, wearing a black long jacket and hat, just like a Western action movie detective, though there is no smoke pipe, his face was blurry and to make sure it was him, my gaze turned towards his watch. It is the watch I gifted, it still looks beautiful on his hand, and my heart skipped its beat for a few seconds. So, it is really him. And my hand unconsciously tried to hold my chest and dabbed it for 3-4 seconds to make sure it ain’t a dream.

My eyes started tearing up, but I don’t want to look weak, so I tried to hold them back, looking to my left side. Yet a small action by him can make them start again. At this moment, I really wanted the time to stop. I don’t want to face the next second.

He looked at me and started to walk towards me. I wanted to run away, but I couldn’t, like my legs are tied up. I waited for him to come near, each step taken from him is directly proportional to my heart beat raise.

When he was almost near, the rain started falling heavily. And I’m like, why it always has to be like this, dramatic, when he is involved. And the tears that almost swallowed and brought back again, who cares I’m already covered in rain. I tried to remember our last yet painful conversation.

Suddenly, he held my hand and run towards a tree before I tried to recall what’s happening. After reaching under the tree, I tried to adjust my hair, clothes and especially my teary eyes. After a moment, I wanted to say, it’s dangerous to stand under a tree during thunders, but his voice startled me. “How are you doing?”, this is an expected question after meeting 1 year. But he said, “It’s okay to take time to rest under a tree sometimes”. I don’t know whether this is an answer to my inner voice or to the question I asked him one year back.

He said, “I don’t want any diversions from my journey”, and walked away. “What if I wanted to be a tree in journey”, I yelled at his back. There was no answer and from then I couldn’t find him anymore.

To the answer I waited since last year was now in front of me. I can walk away too, but I couldn’t cause I don’t want to lose him anymore. Before I reply to his words, I felt a sudden warmth. He took off his jacket, covered me with his coat and hugged me from the back and waited for my reply. And I can only nod at him like a lost puppy.


We all have that one familiar person, who appears every time but still we couldn’t see their face (it’s always kinda blurry) but their actions reminds us, they know us inside and out.

This is the dream I had on Friday, don’t know why, after waking up I’m emotions are like it really happened. I know dreams are made up by our brain but still at some point in our heart we wish to meet our dreamy person. Right?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.