WFH: Pros and Cons of Screen sharing

Since last year, April, WFH is going on and meetings are being held online. For people like me, I can say it’s a boon, for my laziness, no need to get dressed up because it will be just a voice call, for my shy personality, I can stay on mute unless there is any dependency of me.

But I’m doing better now, for internal meetings, I’m voicing out my opinions and during client-facing, there is no need to speak, since my leads will handle it out.

Now coming to today’s topic, screen sharing. The two sentences I use every day other than saying salutations is “I have a doubt regarding …., Can we connect once?” and of course the follow-up action is screen sharing, “Can I share my screen?”. Also, when we are having meetings with Clients for a demo or fixing issues, sometimes I may end up sharing the screen. So I thought of writing about my experiences during the screen sharing sessions.

First, let me write about the Cons we face during screen sharing.

  1. You can’t keep yourself in mute. (I have to control every sound that may come from me like yawning, that song which keeps running in my brain. If I sense something is going to be out of control situations, especially like my mom/ family conversations, I don’t think twice, just mute myself and write explanation in meeting chat box).
  2. Can’t drink/eat (Sometimes the meeting that should end in 30 mins will extend to 2hrs, and they occupy my lunch and snacks time. My mom always brings them and keeps near my table. Just a handful distance and I can’t grab them like I’m under some curse🙁. Whenever I glance at them, I would always think, if I’m not sharing my screen you would have already been in my tummy)
  3. VPN and network disconnect (My VPN and network, which are working perfectly until the meeting starts, suddenly gets into the process of reconnecting and my poor remote desktop wouldn’t connect.)
  4. Power shutdown (Happens just when I feel every thing is going well. My anxiety will reach the peak, until I connect to my mobile hotspot to check whether my work is saved or not)
  5. Shouldn’t get distracted (I know my thoughts keep running in my brain, but I shouldn’t get distracted, since I can’t always say “Sorry, there is an audio problem. Can you repeat once again?”).

Now, the Pros of screen sharing.

Of course, there is one advantage. When we share our screen to solve any issue, my lead guides me where to check and since I’m operating the screen, I’m gaining and learning the opportunity to understand where to check in the future. Also, when we look at other screens, we might not remember all the navigation, but when we operate, we listen and follow the commands, so we remember them better (at least in my opinion).

So that’s my screen-sharing experience during WFH. And ofcourse these won’t happen every day😅.

Thanks for reading❤️!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.